Garth Peacock
North West Suffolk

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 8th March 2014

Last Wednesday, a friend wanted to visit West Stowe Country park to photograph the Crossbills that have been highly photogenic for most of the winter. I had visited there a couple of times before so I thought that I knew the ropes.

Firstly we went to Lakenheath RSPB to see if any decent shots could be taken at the feeding station - quick answer - no. Plenty of interesting birds visiting - Siskin, Lesser Redpoll. Mealy Redpoll as well as the usual suspects but there were no suitable perches to get decent shots so nothing worth keeping.

On the way back to the car park, my friend looked up and noticed a large bird flying on a thermal - a Grey Heron?. No, a Crane. Now I did get excited. My only shot of a Crane was at Welney WWT, about 300 metres away so I took a few shots - longish distance but better by far than anything else I have. A result for me if not a particularly good photo.

Now to West Stowe. Driving round the car park, there were a couple of photographers waiting on the far side of the car park instead of the usual place where there were still a couple of decent puddles for them to drink in. Speaking to them it appears that the Crossbills had been coming in to a pool no more than a couple of feet across and in the middle of that part of the car park - difficult to believe I know.

However, after waiting all afternoon with only the odd glimpse of Crossbills on the top of far trees, we noticed there were 4 perched in the trees behind where those photographers were waiting. We quickly moved over and in no time they were coming in to drink in that small pool about 12 to 15 feet away. I already had decent shots so did not keep many but the odd one was a keeper.

Just shows that it pays to speak to the locals to really find out what is going on!!!

More images in the Recent Additions section.