Garth Peacock
Private Site Cambridgeshire

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Sunday 29th December 2013

Three or so weeks ago, when I was with a couple of other photographers from another part of the county, I said that the sites in Cambs were not set up for photographers and that the county was getting to be hard work. Someone mentioned a private site that I had not visited but it was not until a friend of mine had the same conversation a few days later and we compared notes, that it became on the 'must do' list.

He kindly arranged access for us on 20th December and we turned up not expecting too much activity. Well, we were wrong.

Finding the hide, we were pleasantly surprised to see feeders topped up and perches in good positions and the hide facing North-east and overlooking a mere. Absolutely delightful. We came prepared for a full day and were very glad of that.

There were loads of Reed Buntings coming in to feed

Mallard Teal and Gadwall on the mere with the latter showing close to the hide.

A distant Buzzard showed frequently

A flock of Long-tailed Tits made a brief appearance

A Water Rail showed fleetingly several times but at last allowed a close shot

And a Marsh Harrier finally came close in the late afternoon sun

Altogether an excellent site, well know to locals who tend not to broadcast it's location so for this reason I am keeping it under wraps. Further visits a certainty!!!

More images in the Recent Additions section.replica watches