Garth Peacock
Lakenheath Fen RSPB

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 5th June 2013

Well, after a cracking couple of days in Powys, it is back to reality.

Feeling withdrawal symptoms after a period when family matters became more important, I decided to take a trip to Weeting Heath NWT and Lakenheath Fen RSPB, both less that an hours drive away.

www.shepdec.com

Weeting Heath was disappointing. The Stone Curlews were sitting at the top of the ridge, about 150 metres or more away and then moved over the ridge out of site. The Spotted Flycatchers were nesting, albeit rather later than usual due to the adverse weather conditions with the female sitting on eggs, rather than feeding young. Naturally, photographic opportunites were zero.

We moved to Lakenheath Fen RSPB and only just managed to squeeze the car into the car park, it was so full. Hoping for Reed and Sedge Warblers at least but the wind got up and they all stayed low in the reeds. No point in walking the distance for the Savi's Warbler as, with the wind up, that was unlikely to show either.

Hobby's were present, just a few, but they were feeding surprisingly high for the wind although the skies were perfectly clear so really out of camera range and I ended up binning all of those shots.

On the way back to the car, a Whitethroat showed feeding young in a nest close to the path so that was worth a few shots - at least I would go home with something for the day, if not all that exciting.

Welcome back to the realities of East Anglia at present.

A few more shots can be seen in the Recent Additions section.