Garth Peacock
Tanzania - Day 2 - Tarangire National Park

Archive

Catching up with a local rarity

Friday 14th June 2024

Tanzania - Day 1 - Arusha

Monday 13th May 2024

Spring Tide at RSPB Snettisham

Saturday 13th April 2024

Things didn't go to plan

Friday 5th April 2024

Fowlmere RSPB Cambs

Wednesday 20th March 2024

Another trip to Norfolk

Tuesday 12th March 2024

Frampton Marsh (again)

Tuesday 5th March 2024

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

Back to Burwell Fen

Saturday 9th December 2023

Short-eared Owls

Monday 4th December 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Sunday 19th May 2024

Leaving Arusha at the unearthly hour of 06:30 - and Tanzania is 2 hours ahead of us - we headed for Tarangire National Park en route to our next main destination, the Ngorongoro Crater. The original destination was Lake Manyara but there had been more rainfall than ever recorded so Lake Manyara was inaccessible.

On the way, we stopped to see a rather distant bird and the first photo session of the morning - a Long-tailed Paradise Whydah.

Parking in the entrance car park at Tarangire, there were several Superb Starlings - common here but so photogenic.

In the park, we came across our first Cape Buffalo - menacing animals.

and a family group of Warthogs

Other mammal species to show were Olive Baboons

Vervet Monkeys

and Impala

But the stars of the park were the bird life - I photographed 25 species during the day - here are some of them.

Hadada Ibis

Northern Red-billed Hornbill

Crowned Plover

Three-banded-Plover

Grey-headed Kingfisher

and White-browed Coucal

When we broke for a packed lunch, a Bataleur circled in the mid-distance

and later, a bird that I have never photographed in Europe, a Honey Buzzard.

In fact, there were so many bird species around, it was just not possible in the time available to stop to photograph every one so many were missed - one of the frustrations of the trip that was to be repeated almost every day.

When you see wildlife like this, it makes you realise just how denuded of wildlife we are in the UK.