Garth Peacock
A change of plan

Archive

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

Back to Burwell Fen

Saturday 9th December 2023

Short-eared Owls

Monday 4th December 2023

Back to Grafham Water

Wednesday 22nd November 2023

Grafham Water

Thursday 16th November 2023

Fishers Green Essex

Wednesday 15th November 2023

A day in north Norfolk

Monday 13th November 2023

A flooded Welney

Sunday 12th November 2023

A day locally.

Thursday 2nd November 2023

Another visit to Frampton Marsh

Monday 25th September 2023

Frampton Marsh RSPB

Friday 8th September 2023

Gran Canaria - Maspalomas

Thursday 31st August 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 30th January 2024

Great weather last Friday - cool and sunny, perfect for a trip to Norfolk - or so I thought. I was quietly reminded by my wife that we had been invited out to dinner that evening so not to be late. That scuppered Norfolk so I went to Welney WWT instead, not expecting anything dramatic as the water levels in the Ouse Washes was still high.

There were a few other visitors in the observatory by the time I had arrived, nothing showing from the hide to the north of the observatory, so I tried the other one to the south. The usual Pochards in evidence, bathing and generally doing what ducks so.

With the wind from the west picking up, there was some interesting shots to be had in the waves.

I was aware that there was a couple of drake Scaup somewhere and they suddenly appeared.

and the shot I really like because it is different from the norm.

A walk up the reserve produced nothing but back in the hide a pair of Shovelers came in close

as did the resident Whooper Swan. a damaged wing means that it cannot migrate.

Finally, a small flock of Wigean flew past.

and then it was time to go home in readiness for the dinner date.

Nothing startling but a more productive day than I had expected.