Garth Peacock
Three hours at Grafham Water

Archive

More local stuff

Saturday 29th June 2024

Catching up with a local rarity

Friday 14th June 2024

Tanzania - Day 1 - Arusha

Monday 13th May 2024

Spring Tide at RSPB Snettisham

Saturday 13th April 2024

Things didn't go to plan

Friday 5th April 2024

Fowlmere RSPB Cambs

Wednesday 20th March 2024

Another trip to Norfolk

Tuesday 12th March 2024

Frampton Marsh (again)

Tuesday 5th March 2024

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 22nd January 2024

Grafham Water is only about half-an-hours drive from home for me. I hadn't been there for a few weeks so on Friday 19th, I decided to make a visit.

Sometimes, it as a struggle to shoot anything of real interest and this day proved to be one of them. However, the weather was very sunny so the challenge was to take some interesting shots. First call was a walk up the dam - the bright sunshine really made the drake Teal stand out

and even a Cormorant looked nice!!!

Then a move to the harbour - a couple of pairs of Gadwall were feeding in the harbour.

and with nothing else there, I moved to the hide overlooking Valley Creek. Despite the recent heavy rainfall, the water level was surprisingly low so the tide line was more distant than I would have liked - time to try out the 2x converter on the RF100-500 lens.

A Redshank showed well

and then a surprise - a Common Snipe feeding on the tide line, presumably because it's usual feeding place was frozen over. Rather distant but worth a shot or two as a record for the Cambridge Bird Club website but not for this website.

With nothing else really showing, I called in at Fen Drayton Lakes on my way home - just a juvenile Mute Swan looking good but nothing else.

It was good to be out in the winter sunshine but as for quality photogrpahy - disappointing.