Garth Peacock
Norfolk Coast

Archive

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

Back to Burwell Fen

Saturday 9th December 2023

Short-eared Owls

Monday 4th December 2023

Back to Grafham Water

Wednesday 22nd November 2023

Grafham Water

Thursday 16th November 2023

Fishers Green Essex

Wednesday 15th November 2023

A day in north Norfolk

Monday 13th November 2023

A flooded Welney

Sunday 12th November 2023

A day locally.

Thursday 2nd November 2023

Another visit to Frampton Marsh

Monday 25th September 2023

Frampton Marsh RSPB

Friday 8th September 2023

Gran Canaria - Maspalomas

Thursday 31st August 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 16th January 2024

10th January and a not-so-early start. My friend was driving to my house near Cambridge from St.Ives and he was rather delayed by a road traffic accident - the usual 35 minute drive took an hour and a half!!

Still off we set arriving at Thornham harbour with the tide out. First on show was the usual Greenshank but still very flighty,

and a couple of Dunlin.

Not much else so we moved on to Brancaster Staithe where the first sighting was a Red-throated Diver snorkeling in the harbour. Not much opportunity for a decent shot as it was always looking upstream.

We then moved on through the usual harbours, finding nothing. Even a drive along Lady Anne Drive at Holkham produced nothing so we made our way back. We then noticed a flock of 100 to 150 Barnacle Geese in a roadside field at Holkham - worth pulling into the layby for a few shots.

Eventually, the whole flock was spooked into a flyby and landed back in the field.

Very convenient.

Retracing our steps, we called into Brancaster Staithe again. The usual subjects on show but a Redshank was busily trying to extract a mussel - different although rather distant for a decent shot.

And that was it for the day.