Garth Peacock
Back to Burwell Fen

Archive

Catching up with a local rarity

Friday 14th June 2024

Tanzania - Day 1 - Arusha

Monday 13th May 2024

Spring Tide at RSPB Snettisham

Saturday 13th April 2024

Things didn't go to plan

Friday 5th April 2024

Fowlmere RSPB Cambs

Wednesday 20th March 2024

Another trip to Norfolk

Tuesday 12th March 2024

Frampton Marsh (again)

Tuesday 5th March 2024

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

Back to Burwell Fen

Saturday 9th December 2023

Short-eared Owls

Monday 4th December 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 9th December 2023

I was talking to a friend and bemoaning the lack of decent photos of the Short-eared Owls from my last visit. He had also been proviously and managed some decent shots but from a different side of the fen so I arranged to meet him there to see if that would improve matters. This time, I would take the 500 f4 prime lens and converters to see if I could manage better images then previously.

Certainly, the scrum of photographers were still on the other side with just the occasional ones near us. The Owls started to perform, mainly still distant but later on, came closer. Still needed a 2x converter on the 500 lens though and often at ISO 8000 but the Canon R5 and modern editing software (Topaz) can cope with that.

and finally a shot that I was really pleased with although not as close as I would have liked (photographers are rarely satisfied- can always do better).

Still I managed to take photos that improved the quality of my library - SUCCESS!!!