Garth Peacock
A day locally.

Archive

Tanzania - Day 1 - Arusha

Monday 13th May 2024

Spring Tide at RSPB Snettisham

Saturday 13th April 2024

Things didn't go to plan

Friday 5th April 2024

Fowlmere RSPB Cambs

Wednesday 20th March 2024

Another trip to Norfolk

Tuesday 12th March 2024

Frampton Marsh (again)

Tuesday 5th March 2024

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

Back to Burwell Fen

Saturday 9th December 2023

Short-eared Owls

Monday 4th December 2023

Back to Grafham Water

Wednesday 22nd November 2023

Grafham Water

Thursday 16th November 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 2nd November 2023

It has been three weeks since my last blog. After the family Mediterranean cruise, I came down with Covid. My wife was the first to suffer and, being a generous soul, she made sure that I caught it as well. Two weeks of doing, well, not very much!!!

I did manage a visit to Frampton Marsh on the Tuesday before Covid really hit. Result, not one photo worth keeping. Very disappointing.

So I was looking forward to excercising my trigger finger with the camera, although, still rather delicate, not too far to travel.. So, on Monday, I headed for Grafham Water. I decide to experiment. As a back up camera for my trip to Hungary earlier in the year, I had bought a Canon R7 but never really used it. This was an opportunity to try it out.

First was a walk along the dam. Nothing showing as there were too many fishing boats around. The only photo worth taking was of a bathing Wood Pigeon.

Visiting the lagoons, the hide door was damaged and it was not possible to get in, so off to Mander car park. Nothing of real interest in the harbour so it was a case of making the best of it. Head shot of Cormorant on the boom

and a couple of Great Crested Grebes.

Then onto the hide. Nothing again of real interest and what was there was distant so I experimented again. The CanonR7 on the Canon RF 100-500 zoom with a 2x RF converter. Effectively shooting at 1600mm. A shy Teal

Black-headed Gulls

a distant odd drake Gadwall that could have been a hybrid.

and the usual Mute Swans.

Quite frankly, I am delighted with these images, bearing in mind the experimantal set-up. In the right conditions, very usable.

In the afternoon, I moved on to Dernford Reservoir, south of Cambridge. I had not visited there for several weeks and this visit ended up to be nothing to get excited about. Fly by Mute Swans

and LesserBlack-backed Gull

That was it. Disappointing in some ways but, after the enforced interlude, it was really enjoyable to get out and experiment. Isn't it all about enjoyment after all.