Garth Peacock
Another visit to Frampton Marsh

Archive

Tanzania - Day 1 - Arusha

Monday 13th May 2024

Spring Tide at RSPB Snettisham

Saturday 13th April 2024

Things didn't go to plan

Friday 5th April 2024

Fowlmere RSPB Cambs

Wednesday 20th March 2024

Another trip to Norfolk

Tuesday 12th March 2024

Frampton Marsh (again)

Tuesday 5th March 2024

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

Back to Burwell Fen

Saturday 9th December 2023

Short-eared Owls

Monday 4th December 2023

Back to Grafham Water

Wednesday 22nd November 2023

Grafham Water

Thursday 16th November 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 25th September 2023

It has been quite a problem to know where to go to get interesting photos. My last trip to north Norolk was disappointing, especially Titchwell RSPB where the water levels outside the hides are still too high for anything but the larger species of waders - Black-tailed Godwit, Avocet - and I have quite a library of those species already. The smaller waders were pushed over to the far side of the reserve, too distant for photos and the new spit is heavily covered in greenery so the Golden Plover flock was also pushed too far away.

Anyway, a friend wanted to go to Frampton Marsh RSPB so off we headed, despite me having gone there a couple of weeks previously. The excitement was that there were two rare species on the reserve - Lesser Yellowlegs and Blue-winged Teal. There are times when excitement is bound to end in disappointment. Guess what - this was one of those times. Arriving at East Hide, the Lesser Yellowlegs had put on a display earlier but not when we were there, and the Blue-winged Teal also did not make an appearance.

A Little Egret flew in - worth a couple of shots.

and a Ruff came close enough for a shot against a dark background of reeds.

A morning spent with not too much to show for it.

Moving on to 360 hide, a couple of Little Stints quickly moved by although too distant for anything earth-shattering

and a Meadow Pipit stood proud on a mud bank but also too distant for anything meaningful.

The rest of the reserve showed nothing worth excercising the trigger finger for. Quite a disappointing day but that seems to be the trend at present. Perhaps my luck will change soon!!!!