Garth Peacock
Frampton Marsh RSPB

Archive

More local stuff

Saturday 29th June 2024

Catching up with a local rarity

Friday 14th June 2024

Tanzania - Day 1 - Arusha

Monday 13th May 2024

Spring Tide at RSPB Snettisham

Saturday 13th April 2024

Things didn't go to plan

Friday 5th April 2024

Fowlmere RSPB Cambs

Wednesday 20th March 2024

Another trip to Norfolk

Tuesday 12th March 2024

Frampton Marsh (again)

Tuesday 5th March 2024

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 8th September 2023

Desperate to get out with the camera, at the last moment on Sunday night, I decided to get up and go to Frampton Marsh. A little misty on  the way but soon clearing to leave a cloudless day but one forecast to be very hot. I expected many shots to be unusable due to heat haze and that proved to be the case.

Nothing at the 360 hide and all the birds too distant from the Reedbed Hide except for a pair of Spoonbills. Despite having many better shots for my trip to Hungary earlier this year, it is a spiecies that is difficult to resist.

There was some action from the East Hide although it was a case of being patient waiting for a suitable window to become available. A couple of the usual Avocets were showing

And several Black-tailed Godwits flew in.

A small flock of Dunlin and Curlew Sandpipers entertained for a time

It was now very hot with a very strong hear haze but despite that, the session of the morning suddenly occurred. A Snipe flew in, landed on the muddy island and then proceeded to wade across to the reeds close to the hide.

No problem with heat haze with that one.

After lunch, I moved the car to the small car park to see what was available on the sea bank. A Yellow Wagtail was feeding but not close enough for a decent image in the heat haze again, but a Wheatear eventually showed well.

As I expected, the heat haze ruined most of the shots but I managed to save16 out of nearly 1000 shots. Still, a worthwhile visit.