Garth Peacock
Frampton Marsh RSPB

Archive

Back to Grafham Water

Wednesday 22nd November 2023

Grafham Water

Thursday 16th November 2023

Fishers Green Essex

Wednesday 15th November 2023

A day in north Norfolk

Monday 13th November 2023

A flooded Welney

Sunday 12th November 2023

A day locally.

Thursday 2nd November 2023

Another visit to Frampton Marsh

Monday 25th September 2023

Frampton Marsh RSPB

Friday 8th September 2023

Gran Canaria - Maspalomas

Thursday 31st August 2023

Gran Canaria - Visit to La Charca

Thursday 24th August 2023

Frampton Marsh RSPB

Saturday 29th July 2023

Swallows and House Martins

Saturday 22nd July 2023

An evening with some Tawny Owls

Tuesday 18th July 2023

Scotland and East Yorkshire Day 5

Wednesday 12th July 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 29th July 2023

Tuesday 25th July and I was itching to take some photographs. Checking the evening before, Frampton Marsh looked particularly interesting with a range of species so off I went.

Unfortunately, rather disappoining - great for birding - not for photography. The range of species promised was certainly there but mostly too distant. It was nor until I had made my way to East Hide that things looked promising.

The usual Avocet - a juvenile.

A Common Sandpiper was feeding around the edges.

and family of Little Ringed Plovers was also within range and rather actively feeding, especially the juveniles.

Two pairs of Black-winged Stilts have produced young, the first recorded in Lincolnshire. They were both on the far side of the reserve but only the adult was suitably positioned for a photo, the juveniles in very un-photogenic locations so I didn't bother, having already loads of photos from my trips abroad.

So it was time to move on. I had been informed that the Peregrines were still at Yaxley church, and, being on my way home, that was my next call.

First sighting was a juvenile, high up on a parapet.

and an adult also high up giving me an evil stare!!!

after a time, the adult disappeared and then returned with a pigeon just caught.

A more eventful afternoon than morning.