Garth Peacock
Scotland and East Yorkshire Day 4

Archive

Tanzania - Day 1 - Arusha

Monday 13th May 2024

Spring Tide at RSPB Snettisham

Saturday 13th April 2024

Things didn't go to plan

Friday 5th April 2024

Fowlmere RSPB Cambs

Wednesday 20th March 2024

Another trip to Norfolk

Tuesday 12th March 2024

Frampton Marsh (again)

Tuesday 5th March 2024

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

Back to Burwell Fen

Saturday 9th December 2023

Short-eared Owls

Monday 4th December 2023

Back to Grafham Water

Wednesday 22nd November 2023

Grafham Water

Thursday 16th November 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 4th July 2023

So what happend to day 3? Well it was a 300 mile drive from Blairgowrie to our B & B in Flamborough and that was enough for one day - Dinner and to bed.

So onto Day 4 - weather cloudy, dull and intermittent rain - not photography weather. So we decided to go to nearby Filey Dams to sit in the hides out of the rain. Took a few photos but not one worth keeping except for one. We had been watching a young Kestrel sitting  on the outside of a distant nestbox. Then we noticed that a Magpie had landed on the box, went in and emerged with the young Kestrel dead having killed it

Nature - red in tooth and claw!!!!

With the weather improving slightly, we decided to move on to Bempton Cliffs RSPB. Weather did finally allow some shots for a time before deteriorating again. This time I decided to use my other camera - Canon R7  as the crop sensor should help with flight shots on a cloudy day. Started off with the usual Gannet on a rock.

and a Razorbill looking smart on an outcrop

and then Gannets arguing.

Brighter weather then encouraged some flight shots. Guillemot

Razorbill

and even Puffin.

On the way to our B & B, we called in at Thornwick Pools. Took some shots of Little Ringed Plover that I subsequently deleted as I have better and that was it.

Not the best day but now really looking forward to Day 5 as we have booked on the Steve Race boat Photo Safari from Bridlington - and the weather looks very promising.