Garth Peacock
A trip to the Brecks

Archive

Colin

Friday 20th May 2022

A more interesting week.

Monday 16th May 2022

Not much to report

Monday 2nd May 2022

Frampton Marsh RSPB - again

Wednesday 20th April 2022

Cley Marshes NWT Norfolk

Thursday 31st March 2022

A trip to the Brecks

Tuesday 15th March 2022

A lifer

Monday 28th February 2022

Back to the Norfolk coast

Friday 18th February 2022

West Suffolk for a change

Thursday 17th February 2022

Failure followed by success.

Saturday 5th February 2022

What a week for good weather.

Saturday 22nd January 2022

The beginning of a new year

Friday 14th January 2022

Final post for 2021

Friday 31st December 2021

Lakenheath Fen RSPB Suffolk

Monday 13th December 2021

Still testing the Canon R5

Monday 6th December 2021

Nothing to report

Tuesday 30th November 2021

Further testing of the Canon R5

Monday 8th November 2021

Test driving the Canon R5

Wednesday 3rd November 2021

No photos

Sunday 24th October 2021

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 15th March 2022

The main aim of the trip was to photograph Woodlarks at Santon Downham. Not for the first time but I never managed to get really close to them - the same this time but at least I managed some shots.

We also thought about following the River Little Ouse to see if Otters and Lesser Spotted Woodpecker were viewable but after several other birders reporting that the riverside walk was treacherously slippy, we decided against it and moved on to nearby Lynford Arboretum instead.

The usual Firecrests were not playing ball this time so we went to the bridge where some thoughtful people had placed food on the top. Placing a more attractive perch, we soon had visits from Nuthatch

and Marsh Tit

among other species that I did not bother with as I already have loads of photos of them.

After an hour or so, we moved away, sighting a Long-tailed Tit  aerobatically collecting nesting material and this provided me with my shot of the day.

After that, time to go home - it could only go downhill from there!!!