Garth Peacock
Failure followed by success.

Archive

Colin

Friday 20th May 2022

A more interesting week.

Monday 16th May 2022

Not much to report

Monday 2nd May 2022

Frampton Marsh RSPB - again

Wednesday 20th April 2022

Cley Marshes NWT Norfolk

Thursday 31st March 2022

A trip to the Brecks

Tuesday 15th March 2022

A lifer

Monday 28th February 2022

Back to the Norfolk coast

Friday 18th February 2022

West Suffolk for a change

Thursday 17th February 2022

Failure followed by success.

Saturday 5th February 2022

What a week for good weather.

Saturday 22nd January 2022

The beginning of a new year

Friday 14th January 2022

Final post for 2021

Friday 31st December 2021

Lakenheath Fen RSPB Suffolk

Monday 13th December 2021

Still testing the Canon R5

Monday 6th December 2021

Nothing to report

Tuesday 30th November 2021

Further testing of the Canon R5

Monday 8th November 2021

Test driving the Canon R5

Wednesday 3rd November 2021

No photos

Sunday 24th October 2021

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 5th February 2022

This blog covers the last week of January, the first trip to Welney WWT being a failure.

Weather forecast mainly sunny - how wrong can they be - about an hour of sun and heavy cloud. I really went to see the Tundra Bean Geese. 9 had been reported in front of the obsevatory every day for the previous couple of weeks or so. Well not this day.

During the 1 hour of sun, a female Marsh Harrier gave decent views.

And that was it so I returned a week later on 28th to have another try. Success this time as the Tundra bean Geeses were ther although rather more distant than I had hoped for. Needs must so it was the 500 lens, 2x converter and the 1.6 camera crop on the R5 and even then some quite heavy cropping but, overall, they were the best photos I have ever taken of these Geese so a reasonable success.

Pochard were predominant and, although I already have plenty of photos, I couldn't resist taking some more, concentrating on flight shots.

And, to round off the session, a Great White Egret flew in.

With a couple of hours to spend after lunch and a nice sunny day, on the last day of January, I visited Dernford Reservoir again. It started off well with a Red Kite

a fly-by Little Egret

a pair of juvenile Mute Swans flew in

and, among the gulls, a Lesser Black-backed showed well.

But the stars of the show, for me were a pair of Goosanders, normally very wary but this time quite approachable.

and thanks to the fast focussing of the R5, a fly-by male Goosander.

At last, I feel that I am mastering the Canon R5 camera. With it set up to suit me, I prefer the EF 100-400 lens with either the 1.4 or 2x converters and often with the 1.6 in camera crop. I am much more mobile with the much lighter weight of the smaller lens than my usual 500 f4 lens and no need to carry a tripod. Backed up by Topaz Denoise and Sharpen for editing, I have a much higher proportion of keeper shots which has it's own problems because editing now takes much longer but that is a small price to pay.

Overall, I am delighted with the results.