Garth Peacock
Test driving the Canon R5

Archive

Colin

Friday 20th May 2022

A more interesting week.

Monday 16th May 2022

Not much to report

Monday 2nd May 2022

Frampton Marsh RSPB - again

Wednesday 20th April 2022

Cley Marshes NWT Norfolk

Thursday 31st March 2022

A trip to the Brecks

Tuesday 15th March 2022

A lifer

Monday 28th February 2022

Back to the Norfolk coast

Friday 18th February 2022

West Suffolk for a change

Thursday 17th February 2022

Failure followed by success.

Saturday 5th February 2022

What a week for good weather.

Saturday 22nd January 2022

The beginning of a new year

Friday 14th January 2022

Final post for 2021

Friday 31st December 2021

Lakenheath Fen RSPB Suffolk

Monday 13th December 2021

Still testing the Canon R5

Monday 6th December 2021

Nothing to report

Tuesday 30th November 2021

Further testing of the Canon R5

Monday 8th November 2021

Test driving the Canon R5

Wednesday 3rd November 2021

No photos

Sunday 24th October 2021

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 3rd November 2021

Last Thursday, 28th October, I was at Welney WWT. It was trial time for the new camera and I couldn't think of a better reasonably local site where there was guaranteed to be suitable subjects. Probably not the most exciting, but that was not the objective.

Plenty of Geese around. This odd one is probably a moulting juvenile. Canada Geese

Greylag Geese

the usual Mute Swans

and the odd Whooper Swan. Still waiting for many to arrive from their migration from Iceland.

even a close-up head shot.

So far so good.

I noticed a female Pintail on the far side of the scrape, usually too distant for a shot but I tried the 500 lens, the 2x converter and the 1.6 crop - effective 1600mm - and a 50% crop on the computer.

Well the details and sharpness blows me away.

So I moved to the photographers hide under the observatory to try some close lower level shots. Pochard

and a drake Wigeon

Looking on the back of the camera, I was pleased with the results but editing on the desktop is the true test and this is where the potential problems occured, not with the photos but the software. I have used Adobe Lightroom for some years and like it but it needed an upgrade for the new camera. However, Canon has apparently not agreed to release the algorithms for Adobe to incorporate in their software so my first run was not really successful - images noisy and some colours not true.

So I tried another method of downloading, re-edited in Lightroom and also in the Canon software, DPP. This time, I was happier with the results from Lightroom so I have used them for the photos on this website.

However, there was more noise than in DPP that Lightroom can handle to a point. I will see how I progress with the higher ISO images that will inevitably come from winter weather. Acquiring Topaz Denoise is an option that I am looking into.

First impressions of the Canon R5 - excellent . Auto focus amazing, resolution great, even using the 1.6 crop, and it should even get better, once I have really got used to it.