Garth Peacock
Not everything goes to plan

Archive

What a week for good weather.

Saturday 22nd January 2022

The beginning of a new year

Friday 14th January 2022

Final post for 2021

Friday 31st December 2021

Lakenheath Fen RSPB Suffolk

Monday 13th December 2021

Still testing the Canon R5

Monday 6th December 2021

Nothing to report

Tuesday 30th November 2021

Further testing of the Canon R5

Monday 8th November 2021

Test driving the Canon R5

Wednesday 3rd November 2021

No photos

Sunday 24th October 2021

Two Norfolk Reserves

Saturday 9th October 2021

Two weeks of - well - not very much

Thursday 23rd September 2021

September to date.

Friday 10th September 2021

Back again

Wednesday 18th August 2021

Not everything goes to plan

Tuesday 13th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 4

Sunday 11th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 3

Saturday 10th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 2

Friday 9th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 1

Thursday 8th July 2021

A different experience

Monday 7th June 2021

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 13th July 2021

After the reasonable successes during the trip to Yorkshire, two recent trips did not end as well as I would have liked.

First was a trip to Horn Mill Rutland for the Ospreys. Horn Mill is a working trout farm  that was being plagued by Ospreys from nearby Rutland Water looking for an easy meal. So, in conjunction with the wardens from Rutland Water, the owners decided to net all but one of the ponds, leaving the largest open, built a hide for 6 people overlooking it and started to operate session for photographers to photograph the fishing birds.

I first went there a couple of years ago - not an Osprey in sight. This time I was more hopeful. During the wait. I tried to photogrpah the Swallows coming in to drink. Partial success.

The windless day had gradually turned to a light southerly wind - not a good sign as the hide faced south so any birds would land and take off into the wind - away from the hide.

Surprisingly, a Red Kite checked it out, seeing a dead fish in the surface. A successful dive for the fish away from the hide unfortunately so not the best photos.

Then the spotter called for an Osprey overhead, very high. Without warning, it suddenly dived, coming in from behind the hide. The first dive was not successful.

It flew round

and again came in from behind for a second and successful attempt but still going away from us.

No further action so some photos but not what I really wanted.

With a few hours to spare, on 8th July, I decided to go to Welney reserve. I would have liked to have improved my catalogue of flight shots of House Martins and Swallows - not to be. The clouds came in and only cleared after 4.00pm when the reserve closed early due to lack of visitors. The base of the observatory is now open for photography - basic and too much foliage in front of it but worth a try.

A few Black-tailed Godwits were feeding although not close.

Tried some flight shots with but limited success due to the cloudy conditions.

House Martin

and Sand Martin

Any Swallow shots were just not up to standard so binned.

Three juvenile Shelduck were feeding in front of the hide

as were a  family of Moorhens.

Not the most attractive fledglings I have ever seen. With the reserve closing early, it was time to go home - another rather disappointing day.