Garth Peacock
Not everything goes to plan

Archive

Home Patch

Thursday 28th July 2022

North Norfolk

Wednesday 13th July 2022

Wales Day 4

Friday 1st July 2022

Wales - Day 3

Sunday 26th June 2022

Wales - Day 2

Friday 24th June 2022

Wales - Day 1

Friday 17th June 2022

Some new garden visitors

Monday 13th June 2022

Colin

Friday 20th May 2022

A more interesting week.

Monday 16th May 2022

Not much to report

Monday 2nd May 2022

Frampton Marsh RSPB - again

Wednesday 20th April 2022

Cley Marshes NWT Norfolk

Thursday 31st March 2022

A trip to the Brecks

Tuesday 15th March 2022

A lifer

Monday 28th February 2022

Back to the Norfolk coast

Friday 18th February 2022

West Suffolk for a change

Thursday 17th February 2022

Failure followed by success.

Saturday 5th February 2022

What a week for good weather.

Saturday 22nd January 2022

The beginning of a new year

Friday 14th January 2022

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 13th July 2021

After the reasonable successes during the trip to Yorkshire, two recent trips did not end as well as I would have liked.

First was a trip to Horn Mill Rutland for the Ospreys. Horn Mill is a working trout farm  that was being plagued by Ospreys from nearby Rutland Water looking for an easy meal. So, in conjunction with the wardens from Rutland Water, the owners decided to net all but one of the ponds, leaving the largest open, built a hide for 6 people overlooking it and started to operate session for photographers to photograph the fishing birds.

I first went there a couple of years ago - not an Osprey in sight. This time I was more hopeful. During the wait. I tried to photogrpah the Swallows coming in to drink. Partial success.

The windless day had gradually turned to a light southerly wind - not a good sign as the hide faced south so any birds would land and take off into the wind - away from the hide.

Surprisingly, a Red Kite checked it out, seeing a dead fish in the surface. A successful dive for the fish away from the hide unfortunately so not the best photos.

Then the spotter called for an Osprey overhead, very high. Without warning, it suddenly dived, coming in from behind the hide. The first dive was not successful.

It flew round

and again came in from behind for a second and successful attempt but still going away from us.

No further action so some photos but not what I really wanted.

With a few hours to spare, on 8th July, I decided to go to Welney reserve. I would have liked to have improved my catalogue of flight shots of House Martins and Swallows - not to be. The clouds came in and only cleared after 4.00pm when the reserve closed early due to lack of visitors. The base of the observatory is now open for photography - basic and too much foliage in front of it but worth a try.

A few Black-tailed Godwits were feeding although not close.

Tried some flight shots with but limited success due to the cloudy conditions.

House Martin

and Sand Martin

Any Swallow shots were just not up to standard so binned.

Three juvenile Shelduck were feeding in front of the hide

as were a  family of Moorhens.

Not the most attractive fledglings I have ever seen. With the reserve closing early, it was time to go home - another rather disappointing day.