Garth Peacock
A different experience

Archive

What a week for good weather.

Saturday 22nd January 2022

The beginning of a new year

Friday 14th January 2022

Final post for 2021

Friday 31st December 2021

Lakenheath Fen RSPB Suffolk

Monday 13th December 2021

Still testing the Canon R5

Monday 6th December 2021

Nothing to report

Tuesday 30th November 2021

Further testing of the Canon R5

Monday 8th November 2021

Test driving the Canon R5

Wednesday 3rd November 2021

No photos

Sunday 24th October 2021

Two Norfolk Reserves

Saturday 9th October 2021

Two weeks of - well - not very much

Thursday 23rd September 2021

September to date.

Friday 10th September 2021

Back again

Wednesday 18th August 2021

Not everything goes to plan

Tuesday 13th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 4

Sunday 11th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 3

Saturday 10th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 2

Friday 9th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 1

Thursday 8th July 2021

A different experience

Monday 7th June 2021

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 7th June 2021

27th and 28th May 2021. A 24 hour session in the hides by Bourne Hides Lincolnshire, booked with a friend, starting at 7:30 am on the 27th and ending at 7.30am on the 28th.

First we spent the morning in the Wired Hide and bait had been put out for the pair of Kestrels that were nesting in a nearby tree. Nothing happened until 11.00am and then the male visited.

The female paid a fleeting visit only.

Then on to the Pond Hide, set up with all facilities for an overnight stay. The main attraction was Kingfishers but they were absent - a disappointment. The only bird showing was a Black-headed Gull, very common, but with nothing else to do, it was worth taking a few shots of it fishing. Suprisingly, I was delighted with this shot.

The evening approached and Tom Robinsin, the owner, came to put up the lighting for night-time photography. Even in the twilight, the Tawny Owls came in to the bait with repeated visits.

On the main pond, a Grey Heron came and went several times during the night.

The main night-time speciality is the Otter and, eventually, it came amd went several times.

It even came close to the hide to feed and on a basket of fist left out for the non-appearing Kingfishers.

So not a lot of species but good opportunities for photographs that are just a little different from the norm.

Loads more photos in the Recent Additions section of this website.