Garth Peacock
Something different at last

Archive

The last 10 days or so

Monday 10th May 2021

Something different at last

Friday 30th April 2021

March/April update

Tuesday 6th April 2021

Remembering the highlights

Monday 22nd March 2021

Three weeks of not very much!!!

Saturday 6th March 2021

Minor successes despite Covid

Tuesday 16th February 2021

Desperation strikes

Monday 8th February 2021

Keeping sane during lockdown

Thursday 28th January 2021

2020 - Out with a bang

Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Another month concluded

Monday 30th November 2020

Another lockdown!!!!

Monday 9th November 2020

What a week - NOT!!!

Thursday 29th October 2020

A couple of weeks to catch up on

Monday 26th October 2020

Mixed fortunes

Saturday 26th September 2020

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 30th April 2021

I am a week late in posting this but 20th, a friend and I had booked a day in a woodland hide in Norfolk owned and run by the well known professional wildlife photographer David Tipling. We arrived at 8:30 and settled in while David organised the bait and perches. The hide overlooked a small pool.

While there was not a great spread of species, we occupied ourselves with common birds bathing.

A pair of Great Spotted Woodpeckers made occasional visits

and Nuthatch's were frequent.

In quieter moments, we even occupied ourselves by trying to photograph the local Grey Squirrels jumping.

Late morning we noticed a Buzzard checking us out from a nearby tree. It eventually dropped down to the Pigeon carcass left as bait - an opportunity not to be missed

and it then started to strip the carcass before settling to feed

but not for long as another Buzzard aggressively flew in and they both departed together.

Another quiet period after that, surprisingly brightened by a couple of appeareances by a pair of Pheasants. I had few photographs of Pheasants, probably because I have been influenced by a comment from the late Bob Scott that they never do anything interesting - well this one did by diplaying right in front of us.

before settling down to feed with it's mate.

Late afternoon and we were treated to a visit by a male Sparrowhawk, first by sitting on a branch checking us out

before flying down to the remains of the Pigeon carcass.

It was briefly joind by a female but both were aggressively seen of by a different Buzzard

That was the end of the activity.

On Friday 23rd, I saw a report that a flock of Little Gulls were at nearby Dernford Reservoir. By the time I arrived, mid afternoon, the sun ahd moved round so I was shooting against it, with fast moving subjects so it took me while to get my eye in.

Loads of rubbish photos but as I had not photographed a Little Gull in breeding plumage before, I came away relatively happy although they are not the best photos I have ever taken by a long way.