Garth Peacock
Three weeks of not very much!!!

Archive

March/April update

Tuesday 6th April 2021

Remembering the highlights

Monday 22nd March 2021

Three weeks of not very much!!!

Saturday 6th March 2021

Minor successes despite Covid

Tuesday 16th February 2021

Desperation strikes

Monday 8th February 2021

Keeping sane during lockdown

Thursday 28th January 2021

2020 - Out with a bang

Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Another month concluded

Monday 30th November 2020

Another lockdown!!!!

Monday 9th November 2020

What a week - NOT!!!

Thursday 29th October 2020

A couple of weeks to catch up on

Monday 26th October 2020

Mixed fortunes

Saturday 26th September 2020

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 6th March 2021

With the flooding of the river Great Ouse receding, on 15th February, I drove to RSPB Fen Drayton to see if I could catch up with the small flock of White-fronted Geese that had been associating with the local flock of Greylag Geese. Unusually, this year there has been quite an influx of these geese from Russia and their summer breeding grounds, mainly into the East of the UK. Before Christmas, I went to Wimpole Hall to photograph some - rather ill-fated as that was where I had my accident.

Anyway, I found them, rather distant, although an afternoon of sitting and watching from the car was more successful as they wandered into the middle of the field before taking flight.

Even managed a wing flap.

During this period, and being severely restricted in my activities, I have been trying to establish a small reflection pool in my back garden. Lots of changes to it before things started to happen but I must confess, I am still disappointed with the results so far. These photos of a Robin and a Long-tailed Tit are really the only ones worth showing.

I will keep trying.

I have driven into the fens a couple of times to see what was available to photograph - nothing is the short answer. However, yesterday, I did take a different route and managed to find some Barnacle Geese amongst a flock of Greylag Geese.

Some would claim then as 'plastic' i.e. not really from wild origins, but still a very attracive bird.

With an operation on my injured knee pending in a few days, it may be a while before my next blog.