Garth Peacock
2020 - Out with a bang

Archive

2020 - Out with a bang

Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Another month concluded

Monday 30th November 2020

Another lockdown!!!!

Monday 9th November 2020

What a week - NOT!!!

Thursday 29th October 2020

A couple of weeks to catch up on

Monday 26th October 2020

Mixed fortunes

Saturday 26th September 2020

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 22nd December 2020

When scribing my last blog, I had doubts as to whether I would be out again before Christmas. I managed two trips, both local.

The first was to nearby Aldreth on 14th as a Dusky Warbler had been present for a few days,  a species that I have never seen or photographed before. Nice sunny morning, conditions underfoot very wet but after a couple of very brief views, it finally showed up.

Clouds came over about lunchtime so that was it for the day.

With a lovely day forecast for 17th, I went to Wimpole Hall as there was a Tundra Bean Goose and a couple of Russian White-fronted Geese there with the local Greylag flock. I wanted better photos of both.

Very muddy again and after a long walk, I saw them from a hill overlooking the lake. Going down the very muddy hill, I took a tumble and twisted my right knee rather severely. Using my tripod as a crutch, I started to make my way back to the car, very slowly, but thought that I would have great difficulty in making it. I phoned the estate office to see if they could provide me with a lift to the car - the duty manager declined to help. 'Phone an ambulance'. Very nice people there!!! Typical of the unhelpfullness that I have experienced a few times from the National Trust over recent years. Not one of my favourite organisations.

I did finally make it after two and a half hours of very painful walking but the damage my knee has sustained by doing it means that I will most likely be out-of-action for 4 to 6 weeks.

So here's to 2021. Hope it is better than 2020 for all.