Garth Peacock
2020 - Out with a bang

Archive

Not everything goes to plan

Tuesday 13th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 4

Sunday 11th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 3

Saturday 10th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 2

Friday 9th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 1

Thursday 8th July 2021

A different experience

Monday 7th June 2021

Interesting times

Tuesday 25th May 2021

The last 10 days or so

Monday 10th May 2021

Something different at last

Friday 30th April 2021

March/April update

Tuesday 6th April 2021

Remembering the highlights

Monday 22nd March 2021

Three weeks of not very much!!!

Saturday 6th March 2021

Minor successes despite Covid

Tuesday 16th February 2021

Desperation strikes

Monday 8th February 2021

Keeping sane during lockdown

Thursday 28th January 2021

2020 - Out with a bang

Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Another month concluded

Monday 30th November 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 22nd December 2020

When scribing my last blog, I had doubts as to whether I would be out again before Christmas. I managed two trips, both local.

The first was to nearby Aldreth on 14th as a Dusky Warbler had been present for a few days,  a species that I have never seen or photographed before. Nice sunny morning, conditions underfoot very wet but after a couple of very brief views, it finally showed up.

Clouds came over about lunchtime so that was it for the day.

With a lovely day forecast for 17th, I went to Wimpole Hall as there was a Tundra Bean Goose and a couple of Russian White-fronted Geese there with the local Greylag flock. I wanted better photos of both.

Very muddy again and after a long walk, I saw them from a hill overlooking the lake. Going down the very muddy hill, I took a tumble and twisted my right knee rather severely. Using my tripod as a crutch, I started to make my way back to the car, very slowly, but thought that I would have great difficulty in making it. I phoned the estate office to see if they could provide me with a lift to the car - the duty manager declined to help. 'Phone an ambulance'. Very nice people there!!! Typical of the unhelpfullness that I have experienced a few times from the National Trust over recent years. Not one of my favourite organisations.

I did finally make it after two and a half hours of very painful walking but the damage my knee has sustained by doing it means that I will most likely be out-of-action for 4 to 6 weeks.

So here's to 2021. Hope it is better than 2020 for all.