Garth Peacock
The last few days of August

Archive

A different experience

Monday 7th June 2021

Interesting times

Tuesday 25th May 2021

The last 10 days or so

Monday 10th May 2021

Something different at last

Friday 30th April 2021

March/April update

Tuesday 6th April 2021

Remembering the highlights

Monday 22nd March 2021

Three weeks of not very much!!!

Saturday 6th March 2021

Minor successes despite Covid

Tuesday 16th February 2021

Desperation strikes

Monday 8th February 2021

Keeping sane during lockdown

Thursday 28th January 2021

2020 - Out with a bang

Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Another month concluded

Monday 30th November 2020

Another lockdown!!!!

Monday 9th November 2020

What a week - NOT!!!

Thursday 29th October 2020

A couple of weeks to catch up on

Monday 26th October 2020

Mixed fortunes

Saturday 26th September 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 3rd September 2020

Weather pretty poor for most of this period but I managed an hour with my garden feeders with the main visitor - a squirrel. Now I am not a fan of anything other than the Red squirrel. The name tree rat perfectly describes the Grey Squirrel in my opinion. However, there is a variant of the Grey squirrel that is anything but common - a Black Squirrel - and one visits my garden quite frequently. Smaller than the Grey and much more attractive - and this one has personality.

It saw me behing my camera, trotted up to me and stood head on, side view, other side view, just like it was posing. It just struck me as very amusing so that is one squirrel I am happy to encourage to my garden.

Then the rain set in.

On Friday 27th, a friend and I decided to go to Titchwell RSPB on the Norfolk coast as the good photographic hide was now open after being closed due to the Coronavirus. The weather forecast was decent when we decided to go but the next morning it was grey and dull, not good weather for photographing waders.

The Avocets were showing well but the grey water did not show them to their best, being a black and white bird.

Some attempts at flight shots. The first time at a high ISO with a 2x converter and the Canon 1DX MK2. First a Dunlin

and a Ruff.

I got quite excited when I thought that I had found the 1st Winter Citrine Wagtail that had been reported there recently. Not to be - a 1st winter Pied Wagtail - disappointment.

But then some improvement as the light improved - a juvenile Little Stint came close to the hide.

and proceeded to find a worm for dinner.

On 31st, another session in the garden with the flock of Long-tailed Tits that visit several times each day to feed on the suet pellets that I have recently started to use.

There are several species of Tit in the flock including an elusive Coal Tit. Should be interesting to see if any other species join the flock.