Garth Peacock
A couple of trips worth commenting on

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 18th August 2020

For wildlife photogrpahy, the last couple of weeks have been pretty dire, in my opinion. Most hides on the reserves are still closed and most other areas of interest overpopulated by dog-walkers, joggers, cyclists and staycationers.

However, 29th July, I did venture forth to Fowlmere RSPB but did not even take a photo. Giving up, on the way home, I called in at Dernford Reservoir to see if anything there was of interest. Doing my best to avoid the requisite dog-walkers and resulting dog-crap everywhere, I did manage to get within range of a feeding Common Sandpiper but that was all.

Taking the plunge, for the first time since lockdown, a friend and I decided to go to Alton Water in Suffolk last Friday as a Gull-billed Tern had been there for a few days. A totally new species for both of us but as we parked there, the heavens opened - not a good start!!! Eventually, the weather started to improve but still heavy cloud.

We crossed the dam to the outfall, from where the target bird was regularly reported. It had been seen that morning. While we waited, I practised on a flying Cormorant

and some Egyptian Geese.

After a short wait, the Gull-billed Tern flew in from the left and landed, although distant.

After flying off down the reservoir, the bird made a sudden appearance on railing closer than before,

where it was eventually attacked by a local Black-headed Gull and seen off.

We did not see it again after that although it was reported there later that afternoon but had disappeared overnight.

Never-the-less, a very worthwhile trip to add to my photographed species count. More photos of this bird in 'Recent Additions' on this website.