Garth Peacock
My first proper day with the new camera

Archive

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 6th June 2020

After the rules on lockdown being relaxed a little, I had my first full day in the field on Tuesday and the first proper test of the new camera with the 500 lens and converters.

Since Grafham Water had only just opened, I went there first to see of I could get some shots of Swallows in flight from the dam. About 100 shots later, and with an embarrasingly large proportion showing nothing but sky, I managed several shots worth keeping. Here is one of them.

Surprisingly, the reservoir was nearly full, despite the very dry weather but a walk around produced nothing of note, so I called in at a nearby village, Stirtloe, and walked the lane down to the back end of Paxton Pits.

A real hive of activity with opportunities to really test the camera. Fist a male Linnet

and a pair of Sedge Warblers feeding young.

Having a well earned drink back at the car, due to the heat, a Chiffchaff showed well

and, just afterwards, on the same branch, a male Blackcap gave me the opportunity for the photo of the day.

With the heat taking it's toll, back home to see if the photos have turned out OK. You can make up your own mind on that.