Garth Peacock
April lockdown

Archive

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 30th April 2020

So we are at the end of April and still in lockdown for the forseeable future.

Over a year ago, I started a project to sort out this website. This entailed re-editing all of the photos on it - over 8,000 - to try to improve them by using the latest Adobe Lightroom and deleting those that were just not up to scratch. The only benefit of the lockdown - this project now completed and this website ending up just shy of 6,000 photos remaining.

Some of you may have noticed some spam adverts popping up on this website for fake watches etc. I deleted them as soon as I noticed them. Recent work by my webmaster means that this website is now secure so the adverts should not appear again. A small disadvantage is that it may take a little longer to fire up but certainly worth it to get rid of the idiot that thought infiltrating a small website like this was worth the effort.

So what have I been doing during the last couple of weeks? Concentrating on my garden that now looks reasonable tidy and setting up a couple of extra bird feeders to try to get some flight shots of the resident common birds - not easy since my garden is not large.

So far, the only takers have been Starlings as I have a couple of nests in the pantiles of my roof - probably the fifth ot sixth year running. The first attempt and I managed some shots of a Starling altercation

and a few days later, probably my best shot of a Starling coming in to land.

I have just found out that this photo has been awarded a Notable in the Birdguides Photo of the Week competition. I have not posted there for over a year so that was a surprise.

Today, a friend and I should have been flying to Belarus for a 12 day photo trip, unfortunately cancelled due to the Coronavirus but we have rebooked for next year. Small consolation though.

So lets see what May brings.

In the mean time, Keep Safe.