Garth Peacock
To end January 2020...

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 30th January 2020

Since I am not able to get out again before the end of the month, I am updating the past couple of weeks, the last before February.

Monday 20th January - a fleeting visit to Wicken Fen. Beautiful sunlight for a change so I occupied Billy's Hide on Bakers Fen for a couple of hours in the afternoon. With the reeds as a backdrop, there is a lovely golden light on the subjects. - but I only had Shoveler and Gadwall as company.

The next day, a friend and I went to Frampton Marsh with the object of trying to photograph the resident Merlin which neither of us had previously managed. Surprisingly, the reserve was disappointing - loads of common birds but nothing out of the ordinary at all so it was a case of taking flight shots of anything suitable. There were hundreds of Brent Geese

The occasional Shelduck

and thousands of Wigeon to choose from.

The Merlin made a very rapid flypast, over the reserve and out on to the salt marsh where it sat for an hour or more on a post in the distance - much too far for a photo - so we made our way home as dusk set in.

Last Tuesday, with another friend, I went to Abberton Reservoir, Essex - weather very cold, blustery with some sunshine and some heavy cloud - a real British winters day. First off was Great White Egret in a tree from Layer-de-la-Hay Causeway

and on the opposite side of the causeway, a couple of distant Long-tailed Ducks amongst the thousands of assorted wildfowl. One eventually did something interesting - a wing flap.

We then moved to Layer Bretton Causeway as some White-fronted Geese had been reported earlier - well not on show for us!!! To brighten up matters, we found a couple of drake Goosanders that were feeding not too distantly for a change although the light was not in our favour but I did manage a keeper of one having a scratch.

and finally, a female Smew made a closer appearance.

Overall, not a particularly brilliant end to the month. Fingers crossed for a better February!!!