Garth Peacock
That's the end of 2019 for me.

Archive

The last 10 days or so

Monday 10th May 2021

Something different at last

Friday 30th April 2021

March/April update

Tuesday 6th April 2021

Remembering the highlights

Monday 22nd March 2021

Three weeks of not very much!!!

Saturday 6th March 2021

Minor successes despite Covid

Tuesday 16th February 2021

Desperation strikes

Monday 8th February 2021

Keeping sane during lockdown

Thursday 28th January 2021

2020 - Out with a bang

Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Another month concluded

Monday 30th November 2020

Another lockdown!!!!

Monday 9th November 2020

What a week - NOT!!!

Thursday 29th October 2020

A couple of weeks to catch up on

Monday 26th October 2020

Mixed fortunes

Saturday 26th September 2020

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 20th December 2019

Poor weather, family commitments and little of interest all conspired for a disappointing end to the year. Not to mention the work we are having done on the house at present.

In the meantime, I have been spending time on my project - to sort out the photos on this blog and get rid of those that are not up to standard. So far, I have deleted nearly 1000 and I am only half way through. I am also taking the opportunity to re-edit the remaining ones so they present better on this blog so it is a big time-consuming project.

But there was a chink of light last Wednesday 18th December. Sunny morning so I decided to visit Stirtloe, near Huntingdon where a Siberian Chiffchaff was found a few days before. With help from a friend, I found the area it was frequenting and waited.

I tested my camera settings on a Goldcrest.

and got excited to photograph a Chiffchaff

but then saw that is what it was - a Chiffchaff - but the Siberian Chiffchaff soon made an appearance and showed well.

and even sat on a branch in front of me and preened for a while.

A result as, despite at least a couple of other failed previous attempts, this was my first photos of one.

I then moved on to nearby Grafham Water but the only real opportunity was a Rook on the grass. Common enough but it is so east to overlook good photo opportunities if common species.

The weather was getting cloudy so I went home early afternoon, well pleased with my short trip out.

So to all readers of this blog, a very Merry Christmas and good health and fortune for 2020. See you next year.