Garth Peacock
The last two weeks of January

Archive

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 6th February 2019

The third week of January was a total washout for me. I was busy for the first couple of days when the weather was brilliant and when I was free, the weather had turned - Sods Law (or is it Murphy's Law) strikes again!!!

The final week of the month was an improvement. I went to Hertford as a flock of Waxwings were being quite co-operative. They are always so photogenic and interesting too. My friend and I arrived at the scene, finding the berry bush that they were feeding on - but no birds. Being mid-morning, we parked the car in full view of the bush and had our elevenses, both looking upwards as we took a drink - and there were the birds sitting on top of the tree that we had parked under. DOH!!!!!

rolex gmt-master ii replica

We got ready and tested our camera settings on a Redwing.

Exposure was tricky as the best shots were with the white wall of the building behind as a backdrop and that was in sun for much of the time. There was one small dark grey area of the building that I was able to use as backdrop occasionally.

The Waxwings came down to the bush for all of a couple of seconds before returning to the previous tree. The reason was a pair of bully-boy Mistle Thrushes that sat on the roof of the adjacent building and scared them off.

The Waxwings came down several times throughout the day, only breifly each time so it was a case of blasting away and hoping. These are a couple of the more successful shots.

With cloud arriving, we made our way home.

Thursday of last week and I was totally bored at home so decided to visit Welney again. Very cold and icy - there may be some opportunities for some different shots of Whooper Swans on ice. Just as well as there was nothing new there at all and it became quite cloudy late morning.

First off was a pair of quabbling drake Mallards with one holding onto a large beakful of feathers for a good 10 minutes or so.

The Whooper Swans were very active as most of the washes were frozen with a smallish area in front of the observatory that was being kept clear by the bird activity. The ice, in places was thick enough to stand the weight of the swans.

It was fascinating to watch the Whoopers coming in to land, realising it was ice and doing a quick diversion to some water.

As the cloud set in,  I tried a different photography technique - slow shutter speed to blur the action but keep the birds head sharp - more difficult than it sounds as you have to pan exactly with the bird. This was shot at 1/50th second shutter speed.

Finally, a shot in the failing evening light.

Well, it is something different.

best audemars piguet replica