Garth Peacock
Scotland - the last three days

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 18th April 2018

The last three days produced very little of real interest. Saturday 24th March, we had booked a hide to photograph Crested Tits - except we did not see any - just common stuff we could have got at home although they looked quite attractive on the perch.

At lunchtime, we moved on to the site we had found on the first day at Loch Garton but this was a Saturday, nice weather, and there were too many people around to get anything of note.

Sunday 25th we started our journey home but taking the long way round, firstly through the Glenlivet Estate with loads of Pheasants.

Gorgeous scenery but not much birdlife to photograph.

We went to the Glenshee ski resort as there was information that Ptarmigan could be seen from the car park but, once again, being a weekend, it was packed. I did spot a Mountain Hare in the heather

but as we tried to get close, it was spooked. Then the long drive to our half-way stage at Moffat.

The next day, on the final leg of our journey, we turned off the A66 into the Yorkshire Dales to Tan Hill, a place where we had stayed for a night or two a couple of years back. Plenty of male Red Grouse about

and a female

but not much else. The previous cold weather seemed to have delayed the migrants. We were hoping for Black Grouse as a real bonus. Just as we had given up, and coming down off the moors, I noticed one perched on a stone wall. Rather distant as we shot from the car

but as we tried to get closer, it disappeared. Since this is only the second time that I have seen one, I was delighted although the bird was positioned behind a wire fence. Contrary to my golden rule regarding the use of Photoshop, because this was a rarity for me, I have taken out the wires that stretched across the bird.

End of trip to Scotland. As is usual with such trips, some good, some not so good, but, overall, the weather was kind to us and it was very enjoyable, with good company.