Garth Peacock
Titchwell Marsh RSPB - for the fourth time.

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 17th August 2015

Last tuesday, 11th August, I returned from a long weekend in Germany visiting family and checked the weather forecast - it looked good for Norfolk so Wednesday lunchtime saw a friend and I leaving Cambridge for Titchwell RSPB for a late afternoon and evening session in the sunlight. Wood Sandpiper, Little Stint, Spotted Redshank, Cartier replica Greenshank had all been reported on the freshmarsh, as well as the usual Dunlin, Godwits, Avocet and Ruff.

Cambridge was under heavy cloud but we saw blue sky on the northern horizon, and so it continued with the cloud moving with us. Titchwell was under heavy cloud with blue skies on the east, north and western horizons. Somone up there is playing silly b****** again!!

Depsite the unattractive grey background, I busied myself with shots of the Dunlin flock - surprisingly, some were keepers.

Flight shots would have been a total waste of time in this light so it was a case of looking for something unusual - like an Avocet against a green background of reeds.

Then at around 7.00pm, the setting sun appeared under the cloud layer giving unusual audemars piguet replica lighting with dark slate grey/blue water but with brightly lit birds.

The most impressive were Black-tailed Godwits with the summer plumage really showing up well.

Just as the light was failing, one flew in and posed providing another unusual opportunity.

Despite the reports, there was no sign of any other wader species but an interesting session never-the-less. One of these days, I will strike it right with sun, little wind and plenty of waders.