Garth Peacock
Breaking in the new camera

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 18th February 2014

Like many users of the Canon 7D camera, I have been waiting for the MK2 version but the latest rumours put it's availability at third quarter 2014. With so many announcements of the like, and with my trusty 41/2 year old 7D on a shutter count of 96.000, it was time to make a decision, espicially with a week's photography away in the near future.

So with excellent offers from WEX Photographic, I part exchanged my old 50D and the 100-400 lense in for a Canon 5D mk3 and 24-105 F4 lense kit. Last Thursday 13th was the first opportunity to try it out so I went to The RSPB HQ at The Lodge Sandy in nearby Bedfordshire, thinking that there should be something worth photographing coming into the feeders in front of the hide.

First impressions not good. Only three feeders had anything in them but the usual feeder arrivals were there.

Even the usual Great Spotted Woodpecker showed on and off for most of the afternoon.

Since I was trying out the new camera, I was attracted to some of the subjects I would normally ignore

A pair of Stock Doves made a couple of appearances

and then finally, a Red-legged Partridge arrived. Normally, it is only the rear end of these on show as they disappear in the undergrowth but thas one was totally unconcerned by a couple of cameras sticking out of the hide.

Initial comments on the 5D mk3  - excellent focusing - unbelievable resolution - although I occasionally missed the 1.6 crop factor of the 7D (I still have my old one anyway). Overall from this short test, favourable impressions but I have a lot more testing to do before I reach a final conclusion. Watch this space.

More images in Recent Additions section

By the way, does anyone have any suggestions to sort out Adobe Lightroom - replica watches I have tried but just cannot make head or tail of it.