Garth Peacock
Things didn't go to plan

Archive

Tanzania - Day 1 - Arusha

Monday 13th May 2024

Spring Tide at RSPB Snettisham

Saturday 13th April 2024

Things didn't go to plan

Friday 5th April 2024

Fowlmere RSPB Cambs

Wednesday 20th March 2024

Another trip to Norfolk

Tuesday 12th March 2024

Frampton Marsh (again)

Tuesday 5th March 2024

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

Back to Burwell Fen

Saturday 9th December 2023

Short-eared Owls

Monday 4th December 2023

Back to Grafham Water

Wednesday 22nd November 2023

Grafham Water

Thursday 16th November 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 5th April 2024

Tuesday 2nd April - I decided to visit Welney WWT to check out the kit that I plan to take on my forthcoming photo trip. Also, Little Gulls had been reported there on their migration - always an interesting subject.

On the way there, I noticed a pair of Stonechats by the roadside at Pymoor,. never coming close but still worth a pop.

At Welney, the water levels were still rather high so not much in front of the observatory hide but, surprisingly, a pair of Whooper Swans flew in in front of Nelson-Lyle hide. There are always the odd Whooper Swans year round at Welney - those unable to fly north - but this was rather later than I expected for a pair capable of flying.

Back to the observatory and there were some Little Gulls feeding in relatively close so a load of shots - only to find when editing that I had missed the Little Gulls and only photographed Black-headed Gulls. A beginners error. Still, I achieved one objective which was to make sure that my kit was all working OK for the trip.

On the way out, I was hoping for some Tree Sparrows around the feeders - again not this time but a House Sparrow posed for a shot.

So a disapponting day overall.