Garth Peacock
A strange week overall.

Archive

Catching up with a local rarity

Friday 14th June 2024

Tanzania - Day 1 - Arusha

Monday 13th May 2024

Spring Tide at RSPB Snettisham

Saturday 13th April 2024

Things didn't go to plan

Friday 5th April 2024

Fowlmere RSPB Cambs

Wednesday 20th March 2024

Another trip to Norfolk

Tuesday 12th March 2024

Frampton Marsh (again)

Tuesday 5th March 2024

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

Back to Burwell Fen

Saturday 9th December 2023

Short-eared Owls

Monday 4th December 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 19th January 2024

So why a stange week? Glorious sunny weather but cold, in fact very contrasty sunlight - not ideal for photography.

Monday 15th January - my car needed petrol so I took my camera and drove around the RSPB reserve at Fen Drayton. More flooded areas than I expected and the only photo that was worth keeping was of a Redwing feeding in a ploughed field at the reserve entrance.

Not a good start to the week.

The weather was very cold overnight so I was not really disposed to have an early start  - many road accidents reported due to frosty roads so I decided to be a wimp and stay local.

So, the next day, I decided to spend the afternoon at another local RSPB reserve - Fowlmere, my first visit to the site for many months.

First off, there were several largish flocks of Fieldfares around. They are always very wary and flighty, in my experience but, eventually, I managed a few shots worth keeping.

I stayed in the Reedbed Hide until dusk hoping for a pair of Marsh Harriers to fly in - disappointed. Most of the mere was iced over so there was nothing of real interest except for  a Grey Heron on the mere edge, sticking true to form for the species by doing very little. Eventually, with the light going, I took a few shots, and even in flight. Surprisingly, I was quite pleased with them in the circumstances.

Well, not an earth-shattering day but at least a few keepers.