Garth Peacock
An evening with some Tawny Owls

Archive

Catching up with a local rarity

Friday 14th June 2024

Tanzania - Day 1 - Arusha

Monday 13th May 2024

Spring Tide at RSPB Snettisham

Saturday 13th April 2024

Things didn't go to plan

Friday 5th April 2024

Fowlmere RSPB Cambs

Wednesday 20th March 2024

Another trip to Norfolk

Tuesday 12th March 2024

Frampton Marsh (again)

Tuesday 5th March 2024

Snettisham RSPB

Tuesday 20th February 2024

A new destination for me

Monday 5th February 2024

A change of plan

Tuesday 30th January 2024

Three hours at Grafham Water

Monday 22nd January 2024

A strange week overall.

Friday 19th January 2024

Norfolk Coast

Tuesday 16th January 2024

New Year - where to go?

Monday 8th January 2024

Coton Cambridgeshire

Wednesday 20th December 2023

Back to Burwell Fen

Saturday 9th December 2023

Short-eared Owls

Monday 4th December 2023

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 18th July 2023

Back to 6th July and I had booked a session in the hides operated by Kevin Robson at nearby Fen Drayton, working with a family of Tawny Owls. I also had a session there last year, a couple of weeks later in the year.

This year the parents had raised two youngsters that had only recently fledged and were rather shy about visiting the feeding area.

No sign of the male but the female visited several times and taking food to the youngsters that were calling from  the surrounding trees but out of sight.

Eventually, one of the youngsters made an appearance on the edge of the clearing.

and finally, after encouragemant from the female, made an appearance in front of the camera.

By now, it was 12:30 am and time to retire.