Garth Peacock
Wales - Day 1

Archive

Wales Day 4

Friday 1st July 2022

Wales - Day 3

Sunday 26th June 2022

Wales - Day 2

Friday 24th June 2022

Wales - Day 1

Friday 17th June 2022

Some new garden visitors

Monday 13th June 2022

Colin

Friday 20th May 2022

A more interesting week.

Monday 16th May 2022

Not much to report

Monday 2nd May 2022

Frampton Marsh RSPB - again

Wednesday 20th April 2022

Cley Marshes NWT Norfolk

Thursday 31st March 2022

A trip to the Brecks

Tuesday 15th March 2022

A lifer

Monday 28th February 2022

Back to the Norfolk coast

Friday 18th February 2022

West Suffolk for a change

Thursday 17th February 2022

Failure followed by success.

Saturday 5th February 2022

What a week for good weather.

Saturday 22nd January 2022

The beginning of a new year

Friday 14th January 2022

Final post for 2021

Friday 31st December 2021

Lakenheath Fen RSPB Suffolk

Monday 13th December 2021

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 17th June 2022

Three weeks without a posting but I have an excuse. A long weekend in Munich for family reasons and shortly after, a weeks' trip to Wales that was unfortunately cut short as I had an infection so had to come home early for some antibiotics. A common problem for me up to three years ago bit not since so very odd.

Anyway, Thursday 2nd June and a friend and I headed towards Anglesey in North Wales with the main aim being to photograph Choughs. We went there pre-Covid and the north of the island was covered in fog so not very successful and that was the only time for me.

The day we went was the first day of the Jubilee bank holiday and the whole area was overrun with people, cars, dogs, you name it. Weather was cloudy but the first to show was a Herring Gull - common enough but worth excercising the trigger finger for after such a long drive.

Before the target birds appeared, there were a couple of Ravens quartering the cliffs around the lighthouse

and then a fly-by Chough.

Then, around the RSPB car park, after it had thinned out a little, we found a more approachable bird, apparently named Ivan by the local wardens.

Not the best photos I have ever taken but sometimes we have to be grateful for small mercies!!!

Then to Holyhead to check in at the Premier Inn for a couple of nights.