Garth Peacock
Two weeks of - well - not very much

Archive

What a week for good weather.

Saturday 22nd January 2022

The beginning of a new year

Friday 14th January 2022

Final post for 2021

Friday 31st December 2021

Lakenheath Fen RSPB Suffolk

Monday 13th December 2021

Still testing the Canon R5

Monday 6th December 2021

Nothing to report

Tuesday 30th November 2021

Further testing of the Canon R5

Monday 8th November 2021

Test driving the Canon R5

Wednesday 3rd November 2021

No photos

Sunday 24th October 2021

Two Norfolk Reserves

Saturday 9th October 2021

Two weeks of - well - not very much

Thursday 23rd September 2021

September to date.

Friday 10th September 2021

Back again

Wednesday 18th August 2021

Not everything goes to plan

Tuesday 13th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 4

Sunday 11th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 3

Saturday 10th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 2

Friday 9th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 1

Thursday 8th July 2021

A different experience

Monday 7th June 2021

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 23rd September 2021

8th September - North Norfolk

The recurring problem with the Covid crisi is that people that would normally holiday abroad go to places like Norfolk instead. Should have realised it would be busy but I didn't expect just how busy my favourite harbours would be - more dogs that birds - on fact no birds at all.

So it was ending up at RSPB Titchwell for the afternoon as the morning produced nothing. In fact Titchwell was unremarkable too. Considerable work has been done to remodel the freshmarsh - yet to make up my mind on that as any birds of interest were on the far side and certainly too distant for photography.

One lone Black-tailed Godwit produced one of my favourite types of shot - small subject in a plain background.

A  Greenshank was feeding in the brackish marsh - just a little too far away for eye-catching shots but needs must!!!

and a Curlew came close at low tide on the mussel beds.

As I said, an unremarkable trip.

17th September - back to Frampton Marsh RSPB

No real rarity this time. Most of the morning spent in East hide - it was another case of trying to make the best of not much. Subjects on white backgrounds are called High Key photos. The white sky reflection in the water provided the opportunity to try it out on this Shelduck by overexposing the whites. Some like it, some do not - a Marmite taste - but just an attempt to try something different.

Moving on to the next hide, the same opportunity came when some of the large flock of Greylag Geese took off.

There were 29 or so Spoonbills on the North scrape, too distant for anything meaningful until they were put up by a raptor and settled just a little closer.

The best photo of the day - still too distant.

And then two started bill waving.

Finally, a Spotted Redshank showed on the closest island - still too distant.

So another day with nothing eye-catching. That's wildlife photography.