Garth Peacock
Remembering the highlights

Archive

Two Norfolk Reserves

Saturday 9th October 2021

Two weeks of - well - not very much

Thursday 23rd September 2021

September to date.

Friday 10th September 2021

Back again

Wednesday 18th August 2021

Not everything goes to plan

Tuesday 13th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 4

Sunday 11th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 3

Saturday 10th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 2

Friday 9th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 1

Thursday 8th July 2021

A different experience

Monday 7th June 2021

Interesting times

Tuesday 25th May 2021

The last 10 days or so

Monday 10th May 2021

Something different at last

Friday 30th April 2021

March/April update

Tuesday 6th April 2021

Remembering the highlights

Monday 22nd March 2021

Three weeks of not very much!!!

Saturday 6th March 2021

Minor successes despite Covid

Tuesday 16th February 2021

Desperation strikes

Monday 8th February 2021

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 22nd March 2021

I am at home, totally fed up after having an operation on my damaged right knee last Monday and unable to do very much at all. The garden needs attention for the spring and the car needs washing. Not problems under normal circumstances but when you are unable to attend to such matters, life becomes very frustrating.

So I decided to look through some of my old photographs, starting off with a trip to Iceland in June 2017 and that has refreshed my memory to some of the enjoyable moments that I hope you may like to share with me.

One of the most memorable couple of days was at the glacial lagoon Jokulsarlon. Situated at the head of the Breioamerkupjokull glacier, it developed into a lake after the glacier started receding from the edge of the Atlantic Ocean and is a haven for birds. Icebergs drop off the glacier into the lake and gradually float towards a small opening into the sea, sometimes, even blocking the opening until they melt sufficiently to go through.

One of the birds I particularly enjoyed photographing was the colony of Arctic Terns. They had just started breeding

and were feeding on the lake itself, skimming the water for fish. After many failed attempts, I finally managed a shot worth keeping.

We spent most of the first day there until after midnight when the evening light was supplemented by the blue reflections of the icebergs. It was then that we noticed that Arctic Terns were having a feeding frenzy at the outlet to the sea.

After an hour of fascinating photogrpaphy, we all returned to our hotel very happy. A day to tremember.