Garth Peacock
Minor successes despite Covid

Archive

Three weeks of not very much!!!

Saturday 6th March 2021

Minor successes despite Covid

Tuesday 16th February 2021

Desperation strikes

Monday 8th February 2021

Keeping sane during lockdown

Thursday 28th January 2021

2020 - Out with a bang

Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Another month concluded

Monday 30th November 2020

Another lockdown!!!!

Monday 9th November 2020

What a week - NOT!!!

Thursday 29th October 2020

A couple of weeks to catch up on

Monday 26th October 2020

Mixed fortunes

Saturday 26th September 2020

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 16th February 2021

With Covid restrictions still in force, and being severely hampered by my injured knee, last week I was still restricted to the only two local places where I could take photos from the car.

Wednesday afternoon, I headed to Fen Drayton Lakes, passing a rather obliging perched Kestrel by the side of the road,

but that was the only opportunity. I drew a total blank at Fen Drayton Lakes.

So the following day, I made for Pymoor/Welney wash road as the crossing was still flooded. The usual Stonchats were evident .

and right at the end of the road, a group of Whooper Swans were feeding unusually close to the road.

and one even came really close for a close-up.

On the way back, yet another Kestrel was hovering.

This winter there seems to be far more Kestrels that I have ever seen before - last year must have been a good breeding year.

And then I noticed Barn Owl perched on one of the roadside fence posts.

Photographing from a car is of benefit for perched birds but a major disadvantage for flying birds so I was disappointed that I was not able to get any flight shots.

Driving home in the setting sun, I could not resist a back-lit shot of a Lapwing on the edge of a frozen field - not everyone's cup-of-tea but I like it.