Garth Peacock
Another month concluded

Archive

Not everything goes to plan

Tuesday 13th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 4

Sunday 11th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 3

Saturday 10th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 2

Friday 9th July 2021

East Yorkshire Day 1

Thursday 8th July 2021

A different experience

Monday 7th June 2021

Interesting times

Tuesday 25th May 2021

The last 10 days or so

Monday 10th May 2021

Something different at last

Friday 30th April 2021

March/April update

Tuesday 6th April 2021

Remembering the highlights

Monday 22nd March 2021

Three weeks of not very much!!!

Saturday 6th March 2021

Minor successes despite Covid

Tuesday 16th February 2021

Desperation strikes

Monday 8th February 2021

Keeping sane during lockdown

Thursday 28th January 2021

2020 - Out with a bang

Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Another month concluded

Monday 30th November 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 30th November 2020

Well, this is the end of November, mainly a month of lockdown. A fleeting late afternoon visit to RSPB Fen Drayton to see the Starling murmuration against the setting sun early in the month.

and then nothing until 26th when I decided to spend the day in West Norfolk. Usual first call is Thornham harbour but nothing there of note, so I continued to my usual second port of call - Brancaster Staithe. Surprisingly quiet - I was the only car at the far end of the car park and a couple of mussel fishermen there as it was low tide. A Herring Gull took advantage of the opportunity

and a pair of Black-headed Gulls were displaying for all their worth.

The a trio of birds flew in and settled on the waters edge - two Bar-tailed Godwits with a Knot, a strange combination, especially since a few weeks ago, at nearby Holme Dunes, I photographed a Bar-tailed Godwit accompanied by a Knot.

One of the mussel fishermen spooked a Little Egret that decided to land reasonably close.

and then it was a flurry of flying activity with the usual Redshank

and Turnstones

I still had the 2x converter on so I was really pleased with these shots.

Next I moved on to Holkham where a large flock of Pink-footed Geese were feeding by the side of Lady Anne Drive allowing good close shots - unusual for this normally very flighty species.

After that, I called in at RSPB Titchwell on the way home but the water levels again were so high that there was nothing close. Still, a productive and enjoyable day that managed to lift the gloom of the Covid lockdown for me.

More photos from these session in the Recent Additions section of this website.