Garth Peacock
A mixed week that turned out better than expected

Archive

March/April update

Tuesday 6th April 2021

Remembering the highlights

Monday 22nd March 2021

Three weeks of not very much!!!

Saturday 6th March 2021

Minor successes despite Covid

Tuesday 16th February 2021

Desperation strikes

Monday 8th February 2021

Keeping sane during lockdown

Thursday 28th January 2021

2020 - Out with a bang

Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Another month concluded

Monday 30th November 2020

Another lockdown!!!!

Monday 9th November 2020

What a week - NOT!!!

Thursday 29th October 2020

A couple of weeks to catch up on

Monday 26th October 2020

Mixed fortunes

Saturday 26th September 2020

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 3rd October 2020

Monday 28th September saw a friend and I heading back towards north Norfolk. First point of call was Wells Woods where migrants had been reported, in particular a Red-breasted Flycatcher that would be a first for me.

A couple of locals kindly pointed us in the right direction after after a while, one showed but deep in undergrowth. Patience would be the keyword here and after an hour or more, we finally got a clear shot.

Despite waiting some more, we did not manage anything better so, after lunch, off to Holkham Pines for another first for me, Yellow-browed Warbler. A long walk and a lot more patience finally paid off with some long-range shots.

Not ideal and not the best shots I have ever taken but at least two new species to add to my photographic list.

By Thursday, with the weather poor, I was chomping at the bit for some more action. Still changeable weather so I stayed local for me and returned to Welney WT, not expecting much.

I arrived mid-morning, occupied a place in the hide tagged on to the Observatory and waited. Interesting the family of Whooper Swans were there with two maturing Cygnets. This must be the same pair that oversummer at Welney as the female cannot fly. I photographed them last year with two newly hatched cygnets.

A male Mallard was very busy chasing the females, with considerable success as I managed shots of the mating act on four separate occasions.

And then, at last, a shot worth turning out for. 6 Common Cranes were circling over the Observatory, showing well in the short patch of sunny weather.

Early afternoon, with the weather turning cloudy, I returned home. So, a mixed week.