Garth Peacock
Lockdown continues.

Archive

Mixed fortunes

Saturday 26th September 2020

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 16th May 2020

Early in May, I left my bed far earlier than my usual time to see what I could find within walking distance of my home. Quite frankly, even at 6.:30 there were too many people around for anything of note but I did manage a shot of my first Chiffchaff of the year.

With advice that one could drive a short distance for the daily constitutional, and out at 6.00am, I drove to Fen Drayton Lakes RSPB, hoping to see something before the inevitable rush. First was a family of Mallard, concerned that I was there at all.

and shortly afterwards, a singing Whitethroat..

and  then what I thought was a Chiffchaff feeding young, until I heard it's song that was more like a Willow Warbler. Posting a photo on the Cambridge Bird Club website, it was very soon noted that it was a Chiffchaff until I explained the song. The jury is currently still out on this and a discussion on Cambirds continues.

Returning to the car, I heard the song of a Garden Warbler very close. I have wanted better shots of this species so here was the opportunity.

With the site getting very busy, I headed home to return a couple of days later, still early am.

Near the access road, I noticed a pair of Long-tailed tits feeding young.

Parking the car, I looked over Ferry Lagoon to see a couple of Common Terns squabbling over rights to perch on a buoy. I tried a backlit photo into the rising sun

and then refound that Garden Warbler.

Then moving over to the reed bed, a male Reed Bunting showed well

and even a couple of newly arrived Reed Warblers flitting about.

Even managed a flight shot.

Once again, getting busy so returned home.