Garth Peacock
House-bound!!!

Archive

Mixed fortunes

Saturday 26th September 2020

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 3rd April 2020

Well, the Coronavirus has really struck hard so it's self-isolation for my wife and myself although we are both well - keeping fingers crossed!!!

However, catching up from my last blog, after reviewing the photos taken on my new camera, the Canon 1DX MK2, I was very concerned that the sensor was very dirty. I noticed a few spots after my first outing to Norfolk and tried to clean them off with a blowbrush - only partially successful. The problem was even more pronounced after my trip to Welney so I contacted Wex to discuss the problem.

Upon their recommendation, I e-mailed them with some photos and received a reply to return it for either a replacement, free sensor cleaning or a refund. The first two could take some time due to the virus and staff isolation. I noticed that they had just received a stock of new ones at a much reduced price (the one I had bought was a little used one)so I opted for that and received one last Monday.

After leaving it for a couple of days as an anti-virus precaution, I then spent some time setting it up but regretting that there was no opportunity to really test it.

Relaxing with a cup of coffee, I looked out in to my garden and a Black Squirrel was raiding my feeders. Black Squirrels are a rare mutation of the common Grey Squirrels and used to visit my garden but not for some time. What an opportunity to try the new camera.

And later, even one of the Grey Squirrels that are a real pest on my feeders.

Frustrated that I am unable to get out like the many others that who would agree with me but, to quote Boris

'Stay home, Save the NHS, Save lives!!!'