Garth Peacock
West Norfolk again to start the new year off

Archive

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 13th January 2020

Last Friday, 10th, was my first time out with the camera this year and, in fact, my first for three weeks. A busy Christmas abroad to stay with family, and also around new year staying with family, coupled with adverse weather so I was rather keen to take advantage of the sunny day forecast. Except it wasn't until lunchtime - such is life.

The first effort was to a rather remote part of west Norfolk, Walpole St.Peter, where a rare Lesser White-fronted Goose had been reported. Apparently, it was in a large flock of Pink-footed Geese but they were too distant for photgraphy and even birders with scopes had not seen it.

Next, off to Sedgefield, near Heacham, where a strange Yellow Wagtail was seen. It was reported as an Alaskan Yellow Wagtail but how these people see the difference in the winter plumage of these sub-species is beyond me. Anyway, it showed for a short time but the gloomy weather made photgraphy difficult so only a record shot was possible.

After visits to a couple of the harbours along the Norfolk coast, with nothing of note, I called in to the RSPB  reserve at Titchwell where a Woodcock had been showing. I have never photographed a Woodcock. They tend to be night feeders and roost in damp woodland with their plumage giving such excellent camouflage that it is rarely possible to see them.

This one was on show but deep in scrub. The sun was now shining so deep shade made matters worse but a few attempts resulted in one record shot.

Two new species for the day but record shots only so mixed fortunes.