Garth Peacock
Week ending 11th October 2019

Archive

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 11th October 2019

A very strange week altogether. As there was nothing more local to entice me, my first trip of the week was to Lackford Lakes Suffolk on Tuesday. I only intended to spend the morning there which is probably just as well.

First visit was to Reed Hide - well I think that is what it as called - to see if the Kingfishers were putting on a show. Typically rather full but I did manage to get a seat. A Great White Egret was feeding relatively close

with a Kingfisher appearing shortly afterwards but left rather suddenly, as did everything else within sight. There was a working party that started to burn the cut reeds within sight of the hides. Well that successfully messed up the morning.

Chatting to a couple of the locals, they said that they would go to 'The stump' to see if anything was happening. I did manage to find them just off the footpath with the stump of a large tree that had fallen down. One had very thoughtfully brought some fat balls that he had inserted in various strategic places with the usual Tits calling in and frequent Nuthatch's.

One of the locals was photographing Bank Voles. This would have been a first for me so, although quite dark (ISO 8000+) I concentrated on them.

Well that was a result so I then called in at the Double-decker hide where a very scruffy Green Woodpecker was feeding.

With nothing else around, I was home by lunchtime.

The next day, a friend and I decided to try Frampton Marsh RSPB. I have rarely been disappointed with this reserve but today was a total disappointment. All that was showing for a shot was a pair of Stonechats and even the male was not co-operative.

Leaving at lunchtime ,we decided to call in at Kings Dyke NR Whittlesey on the way home. That was not much better. I even took a photo of a Grey Squirrel, just to keep the trigger finger in action!!!

A pair of Mallards decided to mate but facing away although the resulting 'Geronimo' action was worth a shot.

There was always Reed Buntings coming in to the feeders but the opportunities for a decent photo were few and far between.

although a male decided to have a preen and a stretch.

Not a particularly inspiring day but that is wildlife photography for you.