Garth Peacock
The last few days - local trips.

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 7th May 2018

I have been suffering from a trapped nerve in my back for the past few weeks that has made it difficult to get out because it affected my right leg. To make matters far worse, a couple of weeks ago, I re-activated an old injury to my right knee so was confined to the house for a time - frustration!!!!

Last week, I decided to drive to Fen Drayton Lakes and see what was possible from the car. A few years ago, this was a regular trip and there was always something of interest but various factors have combined to make this far less interesting - and so it transpired with just one photo opportunity - a very close Dunnock.

The next day, hearing cheeping in my back garden, I noticed a male House Sparrow near my garden feeders. Moving as fast as my knee would allow, I got the camera, gently opened the bedroom window and there it was sitting on the perch.

A flock of House Sparrows used to be a permanent fixture in my garden but not now - this was the first visit for a couple of years so worth getting excited about.

Last Thursday, I went to the RSPB reserve at Fowlmere. I hobbled to the first hide and sat there for the morning in glorious sunshine, waiting for something to happen. A pair of Little Grebes were in an out of the reeds but nothing special.

A pair of Greylag Geese paddled past the hide with three goslings in tow - a nice family shot.

and even the youngsters on their own.

And then a Little Grebe chick appeared from the reeds searching to be fed - unusual and a decent opportunity for something different.

and when the parents decided to do something else apart from feeding the chick, it really gave off in no uncertain terms.

Nice to know that even birds have trouble with unruly youngsters.

After being fed, the chick gave a lone photo opportunity.

With the sun getting high and the light very contrasty, I hobbled back to the car.