Garth Peacock
Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 12th April 2018

For Day 3, with the weather still bright and sunny, we drove to the Findhorn Valley. Well, my friend drove as he did for the whole of the trip. The Findhorn Valley is well know for raptors, particularly the odd sightings of Golden Eagles but all we saw were Common Buzzards.

First on view near the road was a small herd of Roe Deer.

Looking for a Breitling Replica Watch information? Click here to Website.

However, the last time we were here, we managed distant shots of Dippers and I really wanted to improve on them. Dippers like fast flowing steams so they do not frequent East Anglia (except for one this winter that I never did find despite several trips). Anyway, we found a pair on the main Findhorn river. After a time, they accepted us hiding behind rocks on the shore although photography was very tricky due to the very harsh and contrasty light.

Really, that was it for this area - rather disappointing although still very enjoyable because the scenery was superb. Even managed a few landscapes!!!

Day 4, we headed for the coast, particularly Burghead harbour but all that was there was a pair of Shag.

It was very windy and, with high tide, we found a flock of Turnstone sheltering on the top of the sea wall - most unusual sight but since the sea wall was about 6 ft high, not easy to get decent shots of.

On the far sea wall, a Herring Gull was struggling to eat a Dab. Tried to omega replica swallow it several times unsuccessfully until a competitor tried to steal it - soon made short work of it then.

Burghead harbour also has a couple of Rock Pipits, once again scarce in East Anglia being winter visitors but eventually we found one being very co-operative to us clicking away from the car.

After that, we drove further round the coast but the wind was against us and all we found was a female Stonechat in the gorse at Findhorn Bay but it made for a colourful image.

Then the drive to back our hotel and decisions regarding our programme for tomorrow.