Garth Peacock
Mistley Essex

Archive

A week in pictures

Tuesday 8th September 2020

The last few days of August

Thursday 3rd September 2020

Recognition at last!!!

Wednesday 19th August 2020

The last couple of weeks

Monday 27th July 2020

A disappointing day.

Monday 6th July 2020

Another week goes by!!!

Monday 1st June 2020

Lockdown continues.

Saturday 16th May 2020

April lockdown

Thursday 30th April 2020

Local bird photography

Monday 20th April 2020

House-bound!!!

Friday 3rd April 2020

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 1st March 2012

A sudden inspiration took me to Mistley on the Stour estuary. Weather looked reasonable and high tide was late afternoon with little wind. I didn't shoot anything until 2.30pm and finished at 4.30 pm but the weather was perfect – weather forecasters correct for a change!

My main target was Pintail, a species that has eluded me so far but they stayed out in the estuary until late in the rolex replica reviews day. Gulls were the main attraction initially with the odd Lesser Black-backed Gull amongst the hundreds of Black-headed Gulls.

Shelduck followed the tide in allowing some interesting shots

About 60 Black-tailed Godwits also came in with the tide, roosting on the muddy islands until the tide pushed them elsewhere.

Finally my target species, Pintail, came within photographable range replica watches with a pair coming in relatively close to feed

More photos from my Mistley trip under Recent Additions page.

With grateful thanks to Chris Upson for his directions and tips that helped to make a very successful afternoon.