Garth Peacock
Scotland Trip - Day 3 - Disappointment again!!

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 3rd April 2014

Tuesday 18th March. Everything looked fine for today. We intended to go to Burghead - sun shining on and off and high tide about 1.00pm.

On the way, we visited Loch Flemington for the long-staying American Coot. Found it on arrival but it was distant and in the sun - an afternoon visit. Then on to Burghead.

The day before, high tide in the harbour produced Eider, Merganser, Scoter, Long-tailed Duck, Great Northern Diver, Red-throated Diver and Scaup, all waiting to be photographed. Well, someone must have warned them we were coming because the harbour was totally devoid of any bird life at all. Plenty out on the sea but nothing in the harbour.

We moved up to Hopeman harbour with the same result. Difficult to believe but it had to happen to us.

So with our tail between our legs, we went back to the hotel calling at Loch Flemington on the way. This time the sun behind us but the American Coot distant. Eventually, it came rather closer but still about 50 yards away. This record shot is quite heavily cropped.

So a very disappointing day.