Garth Peacock
Taiga Bean Geese

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 15th January 2014

Over the weekend, two Taiga Bean Geeses were reported among the usual flock of Greylag Geese at Cambridge Research Park, also known as Waterbeach Pits. This is a species that I had never seen, let alone photograph so, being almost on my doorstep, I decided to check it out last Maonday, 13th January.

Previously, I had only driven round it as it is a commercail centre with large office blocks but there is a largish mere at the end with a bird hide. I soon foulnd the hide with a thin bank of reeds in front of it. The Taiga Bean Geese were asleep on a the far side of a small island with the Greylags in the middle of the mere. The high reeds did not help as it meant shooting through them as they waved about in the breeze.

After some record shots that eventually were not keepers, the birds flew off

but returned about 15 minutes later, landing on the far side of the island but allowing better shots.

They then headed towards the island

before landing and showing well.

They then flew off North-East into the distance.

Apparently they were reported back there yesterday (14th). This is only the second ever report of this species in Cambridgeshire so quite a find by David and Jon Heath.

replica watches