Garth Peacock
Private Site Cambridgeshire

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Sunday 29th December 2013

Three or so weeks ago, when I was with a couple of other photographers from another part of the county, I said that the sites in Cambs were not set up for photographers and that the county was getting to be hard work. Someone mentioned a private site that I had not visited but it was not until a friend of mine had the same conversation a few days later and we compared notes, that it became on the 'must do' list.

He kindly arranged access for us on 20th December and we turned up not expecting too much activity. Well, we were wrong.

Finding the hide, we were pleasantly surprised to see feeders topped up and perches in good positions and the hide facing North-east and overlooking a mere. Absolutely delightful. We came prepared for a full day and were very glad of that.

There were loads of Reed Buntings coming in to feed

Mallard Teal and Gadwall on the mere with the latter showing close to the hide.

A distant Buzzard showed frequently

A flock of Long-tailed Tits made a brief appearance

A Water Rail showed fleetingly several times but at last allowed a close shot

And a Marsh Harrier finally came close in the late afternoon sun

Altogether an excellent site, well know to locals who tend not to broadcast it's location so for this reason I am keeping it under wraps. Further visits a certainty!!!

More images in the Recent Additions section.replica watches